Disney Legends to Be Honored at D23 Expo 2017

One week before San Diego Comic Con, another huge convention is taking Southern California by storm. D23, the ultimate Disney Fan Event, takes place from July 14th to 16th. The convention is held in the Anaheim Convention Center, just a few short miles from both Disneyland and California Adventure theme parks.

This year’s convention will be special as it marks the 30th Anniversary of the Disney Legends Awards. In 1987, the first Disney Legend, Fred MacMurray (The Shaggy Dog) was honored and the tradition has continued ever since. Previous honorees have included Tim Allen (Toy Story), George Lucas (Star Wars), Robin Williams (Aladdin), Johnny Depp (Pirates of the Caribbean).

This years honorees in alphabetical order include, the late Carrie Fisher (Star Wars), Clyde “Gerry Ceronimi” (Cinderella), Manuel Gonzales (Sunday Mickey Mouse comic strip), Mark Hamill (Star Wars), Wayne Jackson (Haunted Mansion attraction), Stan Lee (Marvel), Garry Marshall (The Dick Van Dyke Show), Julie Taymor (The Lion King musical), Oprah Winfrey (The Oprah Winfrey Show).

All recipients will receive a two foot tall bronze statue from CEO and Chairman Bob Iger at the Disney Legends Award Ceremony on Friday, July 14th at 10am in Hall D23 of the Anaheim Convention Center.  Recipients will also have a bronzed mold of their handprints displayed in the Disney Legends Plaza at the Disney Burbank headquarters. Tickets to the ceremony are included in the price of a D23 Expo ticket.

Be sure to buy your passes here before they sell out! If you love Disney, this is one ceremony you do not want to miss.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *